Enabling the DHCP service in a RO Active Directory DC in W2K8 R2

Posted: April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Problem:

You get the following error when trying to start the DHCP service in a Read-Only Domain Controller within Windows 2008 2008/R2 server:

The DHCP Server service terminated with the following error:

The request is not supported.

and/or

The DHCP service was unable to create or lookup the DHCP Users local group on this computer.  The error code is in the data.

 Solution:

Since the Read-Only DC can’t write back to Active Directory in order to create the DHCP Administrators/Users security groups the service local DHCP service in the RO DC fails to start.

In order to remedy this you need to install the DHCP role within a regular R/W DC and replicate the data to the R/O DC. Once that happens you’re able to start the service. This only applies to DCs that will be hosting the first DHCP server in a Forest and happens to be an RODC.

In my case I have a total of 4 DCs in different sites but only my datacenters have R/W DCs, my regular offices have R/O DCs. Since there is no need for my servers at the datacenter to grab IPs from a DHCP server I installed the role (in order to create the security groups) in a R/W DC and then I stopped and disabled the service within that DC.

Comments
  1. I seldom drop responses, however after reading through a few of the comments here Enabling the DHCP service in a RO Active Directory DC in W2K8 R2
    zGx. I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or do a few of the responses appear like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’d like to follow
    everything fresh you have to post. Could you post a list of
    all of your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. zgambitx says:

    I will try to post more information here, I have been neglecting this blog quite a bit. I will be putting more information regarding Windows, NetApp, Linux, Lync among many others, hopefully soon!

  3. Home Page says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely think this amazing site needs far more
    attention. I’ll probably be back again to see more, thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

